My first Breakout Creation

So, I’ve done BreakoutEDU’s before.  Both as a participant and facilitator. They’re awesome.  (Sidenote – if you haven’t tried one, you must!) Escape rooms meets education.

I want to do a breakoutEDU for my library.  But I don’t want one that’s already been made, because I want it to be tailored to my library.  So, I want to make my own.

Ok.  Full disclaimer.  It’s FREAKING hard to create one!  They make it look so easy.  It’s not. Just sayin’.

So this is something I have been working on for several weeks.  I have the direction one down, but the rest….? yeah, no.

But then.  I realized I had a presentation to do for my music fraternity.  It was a week out from the presentation.  What could I present? … and then I started thinking.  And thinking.  And it hit me.  I could make a breakout for it!

Ok, so you may be thinking – you just said it was freaking hard!  Yes, yes I did.  But somehow, and I don’t know how, I was able to create this breakout.  Within two days I came up with this breakout!  I started thinking, I started researching, I grabbed my SAI History book (not a thin book!), and went to work designing it.  And by the end of the week, I had a full breakout game.

And then I had to present it.

So, the hard part of this is that you have to have at least a little bit of knowledge of my music fraternity in order to figure out the locks.  So, I couldn’t have just a regular person test it.  So, my first test run was for my presentation.  I did give a disclaimer that my groups were my guinea pigs, and then let them to it.

They loved it!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I did learn a few things.  My directional one was the hardest clue.  It wasn’t clear, and that make it difficult.  I had to give hints a lot there.  But, otherwise, the ones who tried it loved it!

I’m hoping that since I now have created one (which, of course, like any good thing, needs to be revisited and revised to make better), I am looking towards the library breakout with new eyes.  It’s still hard to create, but I now know I can.

 

Leave a comment