Week of Coding

At the beginning of December, my 3rd-6th graders participated in Hour of Code week.

img_8882

Student explaining how she is solving the problem.

Each class was given an hour to work on several options from the code.org website.  There were many things that went well, and several that didn’t.

The first was buy-in.  Getting buy-in from my students can be difficult.  That’s another story for another post, though.  My 3rd and 4th graders absolutely loved it.  They loved working on Frozen, Moana, Star Wars, among others.  The favorite was Tynker’s Dragon Dash.  A lot of students really loved that one.  My 5th and 6th, however, were more difficult.  Many from those grades enjoyed it, but others were just not interested.  I have a difficult time doing many things with the 5th and 6th, though, so I don’t look at it as a fail.

img_8746

Working together to solve a problem.

Opening students minds.  My students don’t always tend to be challenged, well, as much as we would like at least.  I know teachers in my school work hard to try.  But, some of my students, they just don’t want to use their minds.  However, I was pleasantly surprised in how many were actually trying, especially after an initial difficulty.  Students also worked together too, which was a plus.

I am not sure what I would do differently.  With my students, I’m really just giving introductions to different aspects of computers, the internet, and its capabilities.  Someday I’d like to have a computer club or coding club, for students who would be very interested in it overall.  But for now, I’ll continue to use it as another option for computer free time.img_8879

 

Leave a Reply

